University of Chicago campus

(Photo courtesy Division of the Physical Sciences)

Faculty additions, retirements, and accolades

Updates from the Physical Sciences Division.

Faculty additions

Guillaume Bal, Professor in Statistics and Mathematics

Erez Berg, Associate Professor in Physics, James Franck Institute, and Kadanoff Center

Damiano Caprioli, Assistant Professor in Astronomy and Astrophysics

Shinsei Ryu, Associate Professor in Physics, James Franck Institute, and Kadanoff Center

Blase Ur, Neubauer Family Assistant Professor of Computer Science

Vincenzo Vitelli, Professor in Physics

Ben Zhao, Neubauer Professor of Computer Science

Heather Zheng, Neubauer Professor of Computer Science


Jonathan Alperin, Professor Emeritus in Mathematics

Arieh Konigl, Professor Emeritus in Astronomy and Astrophysics

Michael O’Donnell, Professor Emeritus in Computer Science

Award and honor highlights

John Anderson, SM’08, SB’08, (Chemistry) received a National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) award.

László Babai (Computer Science and Mathematics) received three awards from the Association for Computing Machinery Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory (ACM SIGACT): the 2016 Best Paper Award at the Annual Symposium on the Theory of Computing (STOC); the 2016 ACM SIGACT Distinguished Service Prize; and the Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing.

Rina Foygel Barber, SM’09, PhD’12, (Statistics) was named a Neubauer Faculty Fellow in the College, received a National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) award, and received the 2017 Tweedie New Researcher Award.

Timothy Berkelbach (Chemistry) received a Young Investigator Program award from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research.

Andrew Chien (Computer Science) was named editor in chief of communications of the Association for Computing Machinery.

Cheng Chin (Physics) received the 2017 Junior Bose-Einstein Condensation Award during the September 2017 Bose-Einstein Condensation Conference on Frontiers in Quantum Gases.

Ravi Chugh (Computer Science) received a National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) award.

Bryan Dickinson (Chemistry) received a Sloan Research Fellowship.

Jian Ding (Statistics) was awarded the 2017 Rollo Davidson Award in Probability.

Daniel Fabrycky (Astronomy and Astrophysics) received the inaugural Vera Rubin Prize from the American Astronomical Society.

Diana Franklin (Computer Science and UChicago STEM Education) received the John Henry Best Paper Award at the 2017 Association for Computing Machinery’s International Computing Education Research conference.

Chuan He (Chemistry) received the 2017 Paul Marks Prize for Cancer Research.

Philipp Heck (Geophysical Sciences) received the Cosslett Award from the Microanalysis Society for the best invited paper at the Microscopy and Microanalysis annual meeting.

Wayne Hu (Astronomy and Astrophysics) was selected as a Simons Investigator by the Simons Foundation.

David Jablonski (Geophysical Sciences) received the Paleontological Society Medal from the Paleontological Society.

Stephen Kent (Chemistry) received the 2017 Prelog Medal, awarded by the Laboratory of Organic Chemistry at the ETH Zürich.

Susan Kidwell (Geophysical Sciences) received the Raymond C. Moore Medal for Paleontology from the Society for Sedimentary Geology.

Risi Kondor (Computer Science and Statistics) received a Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency Young Faculty Award.

Lek-Heng Lim (Statistics) received the 2017 James H. Wilkinson Prize in Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing from the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics and the Stephen Smale Prize from the Society for the Foundations of Computational Mathematics.

Shan Lu (Computer Science) received the 2016 Jay Lepreau Best Paper Award from USENIX, the Advanced Computing Systems Association.

Maryanthe Malliaris (Mathematics) received the Hausdorff Medal from the European Set Theory Society in July 2017.

Raymond Moellering (Chemistry) received a National Institutes of Health Director’s New Innovator Award and a 2016 Mary Kay Foundation Cancer Grant.

Arvind Murugan (Physics) was named a 2017 Simons Investigator for the Simons Foundation program in mathematical modeling of living systems.

Eugene Parker (Physics and Astronomy and Astrophysics) was honored with the American Physical Society Medal for Exceptional Achievement in Research. Parker was also honored by NASA by being the first living person to have a NASA mission named after him—the Parker Solar Probe.

Tiffany Shaw (Geophysical Sciences) was awarded the American Geophysical Union’s 2017 Macelwane Medal—their highest award for early career scientists.

Scott Snyder (Chemistry) received the University’s 2017 Llewellyn John and Harriet Manchester Quantrell Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

Bozhi Tian (Chemistry) was named one of the Talented Twelve by Chemical and Engineering News magazine and won the inaugural ETH Materials Research Prize for Young Investigators.

Blase Ur (Computer Science) received a Best Paper Award at the 2017 Association for Computing Machinery Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems (CHI).

Suri Vaikuntanathan (Chemistry) received a Sloan Research Fellowship.

Peter Vandervoort, AB’54, SB’55, SM’56, PhD’60, (Astronomy and Astrophysics) received the 2017 Norman Maclean Faculty Award from the University of Chicago’s Alumni Association.

Abigail Vieregg (Physics) received the 2017 Shakti P. Duggal Award for contributions to cosmic ray physics and a Sloan Research Fellowship. Vieregg was also named a NASA Roman Technology Fellow.

Paul Wiegmann (Physics) received the 2017 Lars Onsager Prize from the American Physical Society.

Hisashi Yamamoto (Chemistry) received the 2017 American Chemical Society Roger Adams Award.